The Ink Spots are (a Girl Power Academy) Valentine’s Day featured recommendation

the-ink-spotsThe Ink Spots were an American pop vocal group who gained international fame in the 1930s and 1940s. Their unique musical style led to the rhythm and blues and rock and roll musical genres, and the subgenre doo-wop. The Ink Spots were widely accepted in both the white and black communities, largely due to the ballad style introduced to the group by lead singer Bill Kenny.
In 1989, the Ink Spots (Bill Kenny, Deek Watson, Charlie Fuqua and Hoppy Jones) were inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, and in 1999 they were inducted into the Vocal Group Hall of Fame. Since the Ink Spots disbanded in 1954, there have been well over 100 vocal groups calling themselves “The Ink Spots” without any right to the name, and without any original members of the group. These groups often have claimed to be “2nd generation” or “3rd generation” Ink Spots.
The Ink Spots formed in the early 1930s in Indianapolis. The founding members were:
Hoppy Jones (born, as Orville Jones) sang bass,  played cello in the manner of a stand up bass.
Deek Watson (born as Ivory Jones) sang tenor and played tenor guitar.
Jerry Daniels sang tenor and played guitar and ukulele.
Charlie Fuqua had a baritone voice and played guitar and tenor guitar
Legacy and honors:
1946 Cashbox award for making “The Gypsy” the biggest money making song of the year.
1948 awarded a plaque from the Negro Actors Guild for the efforts in “breaking down the walls of racial prejudice”.
1989, the Ink Spots were inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, as influences; they were listed as Bill Kenny, Charlie Fuqua, Deek Watson, and Hoppy Jones.
1989, the Ink Spots 1939 recording of “If I Didn’t Care” was inducted in to the Grammy Hall of Fame
1999, the Ink Spots group was inducted into the Vocal Group Hall of Fame. (basic info sourced from wikipedia bio)

I Don’t Want To Set The World On Fire Lyrics:
(I don’t ever care to rise to power
I would rather be with you an hour
For the things that one can buy
Are not worth a lover’s sigh) *note* these lyrics are not actually on this track… but are supposedly part of the original song.

Start Here For this 1941 Version:

I don’t want to set the world on fire
I just want to start a flame in your heart
In my heart I have but one desire
And that one is you, no other will do

I’ve lost all ambition for worldly acclaim
I just want to be the one you love
And with your admission that you feel the same
I’ll have reached the goal I’m dreaming of, believe me

I don’t want to set the world on fire
I just want to start a flame in your heart

(spoken word) I don’t want to set the world on fire, honey, I love you too much, I just want to start a Great Big Flame down in your heart

You see…way down inside of me, darlin’ I have only one desire and that  one desire is YOU. And I know nobody else ain’t gonna do

I’ve lost all ambition for worldly acclaim
I just want to be the one you love
And with your admission that you feel the same
I’ll have reached the goal I’m dreaming of, believe me

I don’t want to set the world on fire
I just want to start a flame in your heart

Written by Bennie Benjamin, Eddie Durham, Eddie Seiler, Sol Marcus • Copyright © Warner/Chappell Music, Inc

Leave a Reply

